Table 1

The eight learning tasks

1Learning about the four dimensions: physical, psychological, social and emotional
2Discussing and reflecting on palliative patient in the context of life
3Reflection on personal views on life, death and dying
4Recognising the spiritual dimension
5Learning to integrate the spiritual dimension into counselling
6To conduct an interview on meaning and purpose and work with the diamond model
7Simulation interview with a palliative patient
8Unsupervised interview with a palliative patient